In less than a month, I’m graduating high school and in these past few months, the thought was a little terrifying.

It wasn’t so much the amount of independence that was scary, but the expectations others placed on me. I’ll be graduating in the top 10 of the class out of 403 (thank you God) with a few college credits from AP and dual enrollment and plenty experiences from academic and service clubs and organizations. All throughout high school, people told me I could get into any college I wanted to, with my resume and the fact I was a female minority. They didn’t believe me when I said I wanted to go to the community college down the road or the common university in the city over.

I did apply to the more prestigious, in-state schools (again, thank you God) but I knew I wouldn’t go there. First, those schools still cost too much. Even with my grades, I was just meeting average of others who were accepted. I wouldn’t receive much in scholarships.

Second, with money aside, I don’t really care about prestige. As long as the school  has the programs I need and is safe, then I’m cool with it. A degree is a degree is a degree. That’s okay.

Lastly, it makes me sad to see people rule out the possibility of community college. It’s not reserved for “dumb” people. In fact, it’s super cost-efficient and people that chose to go to community college to save money are indeed smart!

I believe you don’t need titles to change the world. You can make huge differences in your life or somebody else’s no matter where you go or what you do. Congrats to the people that have actually made it to their dream schools, your hard work and dedication is not unnoticed! But also to the ones still finding their way, nobody truly knows that their plans will go through. It’s okay to not know! Just do what you love and love what you do 😊😊

IG: @chorkybolton
YT: meltqueso

